About MPA

MPA's purpose is to bring individuals and organizations together to realize shared goals. We focus on leadership development to increase the number of citizen leaders prepared to work for positive social change.

We are known for our ability to do grassroots organizing and education that reaches more than 100,000 Mainers each year with direct personal contact and quality leadership development work that has yielded dozens of leaders and staff for MPA and other organizations. MPA was founded in 1982 (and officially incorporated in 1983) in the Lewiston/Auburn area with a focus on housing, rent and utility rate reform issues. In 1984, our sister organization, the Maine People's Resource Center, was created.

For questions about MPA programs, please contact MPA Co-Directors:
Jesse Graham
jesse@mainepeoplesalliance.org
Amy Halsted
amy@mainepeoplesalliance.org

For press inquiries, please contact MPA Communications Director:
Mike Tipping
mike@mainepeoplesalliance.org

For questions about your donation to MPA, please contact MPA Office Manager:
Melissa Urey
melissa@mainepeoplesalliance.org

For questions about how you can get involved, please contact MPA Organizing Director:
Jennie Pirkl
jennie@mainepeoplesalliance.org

For questions about our door-to-door or phone canvasses, please contact MPA Field Strategy Director:
Bridget Surber
bridget@mainepeoplesalliance.org

Issue Areas

Board

Allies and Partners

The Maine Beacon - MPA's progressive news website

The Alliance - The Newspaper of the Maine People's Alliance