Send a letter to the editor

Letters to the editors of local and statewide newspapers are a good way to express your views on an issue while also providing important information to the public. The "Letters to the Editor" section is one of the most popular sections of newspapers, assuring letter writers a wide audience for their views.

In order to be effective, a letter must be well written and understandable. The following are some tips on writing effective letters to the editors. These tips are also helpful in writing letters to legislators or other public officials you may ask for support on these issues: 

  • Letters should be around 250 words and respectful in tone. 
  • Be sure to write your own letter in your own words. Don't just copy information from somewhere else.
  • Speak from your personal experience or tell a story if you can; personalizing your letter will make it more memorable and increase the chances of getting it printed.
  • Make just one point in the letter; there isn’t room for more.

Advertiser Democrat - awood@advertiserdemocrat.com

American Journal - bbragdon@keepmecurrent.com

Aroostook Republican and News - editor@nepublish.com

Bangor Daily News - erhoda@bangordailynews.com 

Bethel Citizen - news@bethelcitizen.com

Biddeford-Saco-OOB Courier - editor@inthecourier.com

Boothbay Register - news@boothbayregister.com 

Bowdoin Orient - orientopinion@bowdoin.edu

Bridgton News - bnews@roadrunner.com

Calais Advertiser - letters@thecalaisadvertiser.com

Cape Courier - editor@capecourier.com

Castine Patriot - opinions@pbp.me

Coastal Journal - shelly@coastaljournal.com 

Colby Echo - jhaubner@colby.edu

The Cryer - editor@thecryeronline.com

Current - jlord@keepmecurrent.com

Daily Bulldog - editor@dailybulldog.com

Daily ME (Dexter) - editor@thedailyme.com

Downeast Coastal Press (Cutler) - downeastcoastal@earthlink.net

Downeast Times (Calais) - Dtimes1@myfairpoint.net

Ellsworth American - news@ellsworthamerican.com

Forecaster -mmehlsak@theforecaster.net

Free Press - copyedit@freepressonline.com

Gorham Times - gorhamtimes@gmail.com

Harpswell Anchor - news@harpswellanchor.com

Herald Gazette - news@villagesoup.com

Houlton Pioneer Times - editor@nepublish.com

Island Ad-Vantages - news@pbp.me

Islesboro Island News - maggywillcox@gmail.com

Journal Tribune - kristenm@journaltribune.com

Kennebec Journal - smonroe@centralmaine.com

Kennebunk Post - editor@inthecourier.com

Lakes Region Weekly - jlord@keepmecurrent.com

Lincoln County News - lcn@lincoln.midcoast.com

Lincoln News - editor@lincnews.com

Machias Valley News Observer - mvnoeditor@gmail.com

Magic City Morning Star - editor@magic-city-news.com

Maine Campus (UMaine) - opinion@mainecampus.com

Morning Sentinel - smonroe@centralmaine.com

Mount Desert Islander - news@mdislander.com

New Maine Times - editor@newmainetimes.org

Penobscot Times - news@thepenobscottimes.com

Piscataquis Observer - observer@nepublish.com

Portland Daily Sun - news@portlanddailysun.me

Portland Press Herald - letterstotheeditor@pressherald.com

Quoddy Tides - qtides@midmaine.com

Reporter - jlord@keepmecurrent.com

Republican Journal - news@villagesoup.com

Rumford Falls Times - editor@rumfordfallstimes.com

Sanford News - letters@fosters.com

Scarborough Leader - editor@inthecourier.com

Sentry (South Portland) - editor@inthecourier.com

St. John Valley Times - tory.bonenfant@sjvalley-times.com

Star Herald (Presque Isle) - starherald@nepublish.com

Sun Chronicle -mkirby@thesunchronicle.com

Sun Journal - jmeyer@sunjournal.com 

The Independent - stories@independentpub.com

The Original Irregular - theirregular@tds.net

Times Record - letters@timesrecord.com

Town Line - townline@fairpoint.net

USM Free Press - editor@usmfreepress.org|

Weekly Observer - jlord@keepmecurrent.com

Weekly Packet - news@pbp.me

Weekly Sentinel - editor@theweeklysentinel.com

West End News - thewestendnews@gmail.com

Wiscasset Newspaper -news@wiscassetnewspaper.com

York County Coast Star - yccs@seacoastonline.com

York Weekly - yorkweekly@seacoastonline.com